RSS

I am Officially Sherlocked

17 Mar

How do you know when you have a problem?

Well, it occurred to me that I might have a problem around 5:40 this morning (which, as I’m writing this is about 3 hours ago) as I was clicking on the link to watch the fifth episode of Sherlock that I’d seen last night. These words are coming to me in a British accent. I now believe that the right person can make even a ridiculous deerstalker hat look sexy. I have not been to sleep yet… at all. Twenty minutes ago, I finished the last episode they have out in complete, sniveling, snotty, full-on-weepy tears over characters I’d just been introduced to less than 24 hours before.

I’m pretty sure that this show is the sight equivalent of premium crack cocaine.

I’d never seen Sherlock before last night- I know, I’m a bit behind the times, don’t criticize me- but finally, all the Pinterest pictures, and the memes, and the knowledge that Martin Freeman (who plays Arthur Dent in one of my favorite sci-fi movies, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy) was in it, convinced me to at least give it a fair chance.

It took less than ten minutes into the first episode, and I was hooked- completely hooked. At first, I promised myself that I’d only watch to the end of the first season- that was long enough- 3 episodes at an hour and a half each would take a chunk out of my sleep schduele but it’d be easy to recover… but I got to the last episode of Season One… and I couldn’t stop- I knew I couldn’t stop. I didn’t want to!

The adaptations of the original plot, the transcribed characters, the witty dialogue, the humor, the intertwining plot lines, and creative-yet-terrifyingly-real villains… it adds up to one amazing show. And that’s what Sherlock is. I went into it expecting a fairly simplistic story, similar to, if not a direct copy of the books, but I got so much more.

I wish there were more episodes per season- but quality over quantity, I guess. Season Three may or may not air this summer- but I have so many questions! How can I possibly wait for answers?! How did Sherlock survive? What was the “recall” code Sherlock didn’t figure out in time? What’s the “clue everyone’s missed” that Steve Moffat alluded to in an interview last year? What’s going to happen to Watson with Sherlock “dead”? Does Watson really think Sherlock’s a fraud (incidentally, when Sherlock said that, that was the moment I started crying, and I didn’t stop until the credits were over. I don’t exactly know why- maybe I wanted him to be completely invincible… just like Watson.) Is Moriarty really dead- this early in the show? If so, who’ll replace him? Also, what is it about Benedict Cumberbatch’s voice that is so similar to Alan Rickman’s?!

I can’t even think straight right now. Part of it is sheer exhaustion and part of it is just plain nerves, wondering what Sherlock Holmes will do next time.

Love,

The Femme Fatale Farmgirl

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2013 in FemmeGeek

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I am Officially Sherlocked

Leave a Reply

 
